

City of Tacoma Community's Police Advisory Committee Meeting Minutes

Monday October 11, 2021 Virtual Zoom Meeting 6:00 p.m.

The CPAC is comprised of Chair Stephen Hagberg, and Committee Members Louis Cooper, Kiara Daniels, Shayna Raphael, Jill Jackson, Jeffery Sargent, Nate Robinson, Adrian Lavergne, Angela Mealing, Allen McKenzie, and Jabari Hampton

Members Present: Chair Stephen Hagberg, Jeffery Sargent, Louis Cooper, Nate Robinson, Adrian Lavergne, Angela Mealing, Allen McKenzie, Jill Jackson, Jabari Hampton,

Members Absent: Shayna Raphael,

Staff Present: Staff Liaison Bucoda Warren, City Manager's Office; Tanisha Jumper, Executive Liaison; Asst. Chief Scruggs, Tacoma Police ;

Staff Absent: N/A

Called to order 6:03pm

Welcome and Introductions

Approval of the Agenda

Approval of the agenda for the CPAC meeting held on December 13, 2021. Motion: CM Sargent Second: CM Cooper Passed 6:07pm

Approval of the Minutes

Approval of the minutes of the November 8, 2021 CPAC meeting. Motion: CM Sargent Second: CM Lavergne Motion passed 6:07pm

BRIEFING ITEMS

City Manager's Office

-staff is working to invite Project PEACE to future meetings to align public safety work, and see if they can engage in the January Retreat.

Tacoma Police Department

-Nothing new to report.

Bylaws

-Staff Liaison Warren provided an overview of the bylaws and the proposed changes, and asked the members to review these changes and send him new edits. -TMC 1.06.075 is where CPACs duties are recorded.

COMMITTEE BUSINESS

SUBCOMMITTEE REPORTS

<u>Education and Outreach Subcommittee –</u> Sargent (Chair) -no update at this time.

<u>Data and Trends Subcommittee</u> – Hagberg (Chair) -No update at this time.

<u>Policy and Program Subcommittee</u> -- Raphael (Chair), Jackson, Cooper, -CM Cooper went over the committees work over the last year to move towards an oversight body, and what is coming next.

CHAIR HOUSE KEEPING

-elections: Chair Hagberg was reelected to the Chair position for 2022. -6:38pm, CM Cooper moved to postpone the vice chair election. CM Jackson seconded. Motion passed.

PUBLIC COMMENT -6:50pm, 3 commenters.

COMMITTEE ROUNDTABLE -6:56pm,

TOPICS FOR FUTURE MEETINGS -retreat January 22, 9am

ADJOURNMENT Motion: CM Second: CM Motion passed 7:00pm

Stephen We Hagberg

Stephen Hagberg, Chair

Bucoda Warren

Bucoda Warren, Staff Liaison